goals for the new year

In this post, I’ll give you a look into my thought process of creating my goals. I found Anuschka’s post at Into-Mind about goal setting for minimalists really helpful, so I suggest you check it out if you’re interested.

The first thing that popped into my head as I was thinking about something that I couldn’t not do was writing. This year, I want to write a lot more than I have in the past, and complete some projects that I’ll be proud of. I can write a lot purely for enjoyment, but as for completing pieces…well, I can revise them forever. Having a deadline and a place to submit in mind helps me get to a point where I’m okay with leaving it alone, at least to give it a chance to take its place in the world as a finished piece. One of Anuschka’s tips was to come up with something that was ambitious and a little scary. So I didn’t just choose a few literary magazines (which I plan on submitting to anyway), but I chose two selective places where I need to submit portfolios.

The other thing I thought of is ballet. I was thinking something along the lines of “I will become a stronger dancer” or more specific, to recover from my injury enough so that “I will be able to balance on one foot in demi-pointe.” To reach this goal, I would need to do some form of exercise every day, to eat and sleep well, to work hard in classes, take classes more often, and be careful to avoid injury. I wasn’t sure about this, though, so I decided to work on establishing other goals first.

The next one was easy for me to come up with: “I will build positive, meaningful relationships with God and people.” Here are some steps I can take for this goal:

  • look for opportunities to interact with people
  • pray and read the Bible
  • write letters and emails to friends who are far away
  • Going to bed at a set time, exercise every day, be mindful about what I eat–how I feel affects how much energy I have to connect with people.
  • blog. I’m hoping that blogging will give me opportunities to connect with people, including you, the reader.

After comparing the “carrots and sticks,” as Anuschka called it, I decided not to use the ballet goal. Many of the steps I would take for that were included in the second goal, anyway. Also, it wouldn’t make much of a difference, because I work hard in classes and am careful to avoid injuries already.

So far, I had two goals. I wanted my third goal to have to do with time management. Thinking about this idea led me to something that isn’t really a goal, but more of a one-word intention. I’ll post about that next week.

Are you making new years resolutions, goals, or intentions this year? How do you go about the process of making them?

Leave a Reply

