reflections: changes made and to make

Sometimes I get discouraged because of the little progress I’m making in simplifying my life and living more sustainably. I have a long way to go, but I’ve also come a long way in the last few years.

Changes I’ve made in the past few years:

  • Showers
    • I stopped using the old harmful shampoo and conditioner, and started using soap and apple cider vinegar rinse.
    • I wash my hair less often–a few days a week.
  • Clothing
    • I’ve defined my style and become more careful and selective in the clothing I choose to buy.
    • I’ve made fewer and fewer impulse purchases.
    • I’ve learned about capsule wardrobes, sustainable fashion, and clothing companies.
    • I’ve gradually turned away from less responsible companies and turned towards more responsible companies.
  • Simplifying
    • I purged and let go of a lot of belongings and electronic files.
    • I culled the emails in my inbox from more than 2,000 to less than 50. Now it fits all on one page.
  • Miscellaneous
    • Instead of drying my hands with paper towels every time I wash my hands before putting in or taking out my contact lens, I now use a reusable, cloth towel specifically designated for that (that way, I know it’s clean without generating as much waste).
    • I’ve also thought a lot more about my priorities, and approach things differently now. I’d say I’m more minimalist now than I was before.

Changes I’m working on/ want to make:

  • Getting enough sleep and consistently waking up early enough to ride the bus, so I don’t have to ride the car as often.
  • Taking shorter showers.
  • Reading my emails less often. I’m trying to only check it once a week, but sometimes I need to check it for certain things, and then it’s hard to resist reading the rest of my emails.
  • Living with less waste. Some examples are with contact lens solution bottles and yogurt cups, which can be recycled, but still involve a lot of plastic.
  • I want to try gardening this year, so I get to grow some of my own food and learn about that.
Leave a Reply

