feeling accomplished

Things to Do

I get this satisfaction from checking things off lists. It’s a tangible way of seeing all that I’ve done, and it makes me feel so…productive, like I’m making the best use of my time. Ah. The feeling of accomplishment.

At the same time, to-do lists can be restricting. And sometimes, I just have too much on the list to do. All of these things were the case during my February break, which was a time that I really wanted to embrace so that, at the end of it, I would feel accomplished.

What I Wanted to Accomplish and What I Actually Did

I asked myself what I needed to do in order to feel accomplished by the end of the week. I thought of two things–to write. a lot. and to make significant process on catching up on my Bible reading plan.

Sigh. I did neither of those. With homework and other less significant diversions and distractions, I wasn’t able to pick some focused time to write, well, anything. Thinking about it makes me really irritated with myself–like, that’s beyond everyday procrastination. To completely go off course for my plans for a week? Like, what was that?

But this week wasn’t actually a waste–I did do some meaningful and productive things. I decluttered my homework area and the top of my dresser, because the messes had been seriously hampering my work and concentration abilities. I organized my craft materials. What had previously been a chaotic lump of random stuff is now sorted and accessible for future use.

I also did a lot of research (some of which I will share with you on this blog in future months). You know how I said that I didn’t write anything? Well, I actually did write some stuff (but when will I work on my creative projects?). I worked on blog posts and wrote in my journal. With more time to rest and reflect, I was also able to think about my process in simplifying.

Some Other Thoughts

I realized that I had put too many less important things on the to-do lists. I think that only including the bigger projects like sewing and writing would be helpful in the future. I might also save time if I confine certain activities to a time limit. For example, I could spend an unlimited amount of time analyzing my style and looking for clothing, but I don’t need to. So, I’m scheduling a specific date for doing that, so I don’t have to be concerned with it the rest of time. I think that doing this could help me with focusing and prioritizing, which is something I have been trying to figure out.

Leave a Reply

