Scarf

scarfI made the circle scarf sometime last year. The gray and white striped knit is leftover fabric from a failed attempt at making a shirt. I think the blue knit is leftover fabric from a failed attempt at making another shirt. The other fabric I used was muslin.

I cut rectangles out, put them together, and sewed them. I didn’t use an organized process to do it. I came up with the idea while looking at the fabric and trying to figure out what I could do with it, with inspiration from online sources, so I was excited to finish it. After patching the pieces together, I had a large rectangle. I folded that rectangle the long way, right sides together, and sewed it into a tube. I wanted to create a circular tube of fabric, so I closed as much as I could with the sewing machine. Then, tucking the ends of the fabric under, and trying to hide the thread, I finished sewing the seam by hand.

I wore the circle scarf a couple of times, and now that I think about it, I’m not sure what made me decide that undoing the circle-ness of the scarf was a good idea.

Anyway, I did it, and now I have whatever you call a regular scarf. A regular scarf? The edges are unfinished so I might have to do something about that.

Leave a Reply

